top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNichols Sayson

Every voice has to start somewhere


It's been a week since I joined a community, or rather family, of people who share the same love for the art of voice.


I've been a big fan of the global voice-over community for MANY years, and it was my teenage dream to actually be part of it. Sadly, I wasn't confident about it very much because I had no community to turn to about that dream. All the groups I initially found online were already so big and saturated that I didn't feel I belonged.


It was like being one of the few Kitkat bars in a massive grocery store.


However, that changed a few months ago when I discovered the Creativoices community founded by Pocholo Gonzales. Some of you may know him as the voice of Batibot's Kiko Matsing, all the main characters (THAT'S RIGHT) of the Spongebob Filipino dub and for you older folks (sorry), Combatron! Long story short, he's basically the local voice community's driving force, or I guess "driving voice" would sound more appropriate.


He and his community showed me that voice acting does have a passionate representation in the local scene. It's not a big representation, but that's why I'm here. That's why the community's here.


So a week ago, I began my journey as part of Mr. Pocholo's community of voice artists, people who pursue the art not just for the money, but also for the value of giving love to themselves and to the rest of the world.


My VO knowledge has expanded over the first two meetings. I learned more about the community, voice techniques and most importantly, the proper mindset and intention to have in pursuit of the art.


I met people who didn't just form themselves. They formed a community, a greater force dedicated to the power of voice and what it can do to help the world. If that isn't beauty, I don't know what is.


So far, Mr. Pocholo's assignments have been, well, uhm. I know he's gonna read this so I'm gonna be positive and say the assignments were... challenging. Honestly, when he gave us our first assignment, I had no clue as to how I was going to insert all those tasks into my already-busy week. But then, I chose to see this as a challenge. Mr. Pocholo went through so much hardships himself, and maybe he just wants to teach us the value of hard work.


Passion does require sacrifice, and the challenge was a chance to prove my will.


My group mates and I all had trouble along the way, but we were there for each other. In the end, we managed to submit content and build the start of what I foresee to be a long pilgrimage.


The coming week will be a tough one, but I will carry on. I have to. This is for the sake of myself and what I can give to the world. I want to be remembered as someone who gave the world his voice.


I'm honestly still not ready to give a lot, but I will work hard until I can. For now, I'll keep working my craft, learning more and giving what my current abilities can.


17 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page